Virtual Symposium

February 16 & 17, 2022

8:00am – 11:30am AKST
9:00am – 12:30pm PT
10:00am – 1:30pm MT
11:00am – 2:30pm CT
12:00pm – 3:30pm ET

This conference will orient researchers and public health practitioners to Indigenous food sovereignty, its value in facilitating health in Indigenous communities, and ways to connect food sovereignty initiatives with health data in your communities!

Audience:

Academic researchers, students, public health practitioners, tribal health date workers, tribal leadership, food and agriculture practitioners, community members, and anyone interested in the Indigenous food sovereignty movement.

Day One:

Learn how Indigenous food sovereignty supports health in Native communities, with real world case studies presented by leaders from the National Congress of American Indians and community members on the ground implementing these initiatives. You’ll also be provided with information on funding resources and strategies.

Day Two:

Learn about Indigenous food sovereignty initiatives in diverse environments, including urban settings, and how communities have combined research with food sovereignty initiatives to measure health improvements. You’ll also learn how to assess the costs and benefits of these initiatives within your communities and ways to either sustain your current initiatives or get new food sovereignty initiatives underway.

Register Now

Registration is free. We hope you will join us for both days of the two-day symposium. Registration is separate for Day 1 and Day 2.

Day 1 Registration
Day 2 Registration

Survey

We are asking you to participate in a brief survey, expected to take 5-10 minutes, to assess the needs and resources within your community with regards to food sovereignty and health. Survey participants will be entered into a raffle to win one of two amazing prizes.

Survey

Event Details

This event is supported in part by the National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities under grant number U54 MD011240